Successful AGM sees new Chair & Vice Chair elected

Yesterday’s AYM AGM in Rugby saw a record number of AYM members attend to see Andy Peaden, former AYM Vice Chair elected unopposed as the new AYM Chair. Andy who is head of Leeds Yot succeeds Lesley Tregear (Warwickshire Yot) who is retiring after successfully leading the AYM for the last two years.

Hazel Williamson (Staffordshire Yot) former AYM Regional rep for the West Midlands becomes the new AYM Vice Chair and was also elected unopposed. Pali Obhi (Solihull Yot) has been elected by AYM members in the West Midlands to become their new AYM representative.

The AGM also saw 22 Yots presented with Quality Lead/Mark awards for their Special Educational Needs work by Prof Sonia Blandford, Chief Exec of Achievement for All who partnered with the AYM over the last two years to support the development of SEND expertise in the Youth Justice System.

Members were also addressed by Ross Little, Chair of the National Association of Youth Justice about NAYJ’s manifesto and Child – Friendly Youth Justice report and Dr Tim Bateman from Bedfordshire University about his research into Appropriate Adult work.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply