New AYM Chair and Vice Chair elected

Hazel Williamson, Head of Staffordshire YOT and previously AYM Vice-Chair has been elected as the new AYM Chair at the Associations AGM today replacing Andy Peaden (Head of Leeds YOT) who stood down after two years of sterling service. Hazel’s successor as Vice Chair is Jacqui Belfield – Smith (Head of Stockport YOT). 

In her opening remarks as new Chair Hazel said she was ‘proud and privileged to be elected as the new chair of AYM’ and thanked outgoing Chair Andy Peaden ‘who has made a huge difference during his time as chair.’ She also offered her congratulations to Jacqui on her election as Vice Chair and that she was ‘Looking forward to championing youth justice’.

Prior to the start of the AGM Justin Russell, Chief Inspector, HM Inspectorate of Probation and Keith Fraser, Chair of the Youth Justice Board addressed AYM members. Both Justin and Keith paid tribute to the hard work of Youth Offending Teams during the Covid-19 pandemic.

At the AGM Ian Langley and Jessica Edwards (Hackney YOT) were re-elected as Secretary and Asst Secretary respectively and Terry Gibson was re-elected as Treasurer. The AGM also approved the Treasurer’s recommendation to increase AYM subscription rates for the first time in 10 years.

Diz Minnitt (Milton Keynes YOT) was re-elected as an Additional Executive Member and former Chair Andy Peaden was also elected as an Additional Executive Member.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply