The John Hawkins Award

The John Hawkins’ Award

The John Hawkins’ Award is presented annually to a youth offending service for innovation and creativity in youth justice practice. It is usually presented towards the end of the year at the Youth Justice Convention in either November or December.

​John was Head of East Sussex YOT and Treasurer of the AYM, until his untimely death in 2011: the award is established in his memory with agreement from John’s family.


2023 – Winners

Camden Youth Justice Service and ‘Honest Grind Coffee’ initiative

2022 – Winners

Bradford and District Youth Justice Service SPARKS! Project

2021 – Winners

Wakefield Youth Justice Service: Holistic Approach to Education, Inclusion and Well Being.

2020 – Joint Winners

Hampshire YOT: Therapeutic Wellbeing ​Officers (TWO) project
Lancashire Child and Youth Justice Services: Your Choice Diversion programme.

2019 – Winners

Bradford YOT : ‘Child Friendly Plan’

2018 – Winners

Gloucestershire Youth Support Team and The Music Works: “Making It” programme.

2017 – Winners

Wakefield YOT: Branching Out

2016 – Winners

Leeds YOT: BeSmart

2015 – Winners

Liverpool YOT’s Street Doctors

2014 – Winners

Skill Mill at Newcastle YOT.

2012 – Winners

Leeds YOT Girls Programme